It’s Okay to Ponder What You Want to Do

It’s Okay to Ponder What You Want to Do

Read time: 3 mins

Every month, I have one-on-one with my manager. Mostly we talk about what I’ve been doing well and what I’m working to improve on. One particular topic came up is that I asked him, what is the pathway for me in the company to grow. Not because I don’t like what I’m doing but I get asked that questions a lot. And not just me, but few people that are close to me also wonder what to do with their life. This is really a one-million-dollar question. So today, I would like to think about this topic.

It’s certainly more common than you think…

First things first, let’s address the elephant in the room: not knowing what you want to do is more common than you think. Many of us have been there, feeling a bit lost and uncertain about our future paths. But fear not, my friends, because there’s a light at the end of the tunnel, and it all starts with taking small, intentional steps. Even now, I have a career and try to build Notion business. Things are pretty much uncertain. And there are things that I myself do not know if I want it or not. But then, the easiest thing to do now is taking one thing at a time

Starting small…

One of the best ways to kickstart your journey of self-discovery is by establishing good habits. Whether it’s exercising regularly, journaling, or dedicating time to pursue your passions, cultivating positive habits can provide the structure and clarity you need to uncover your true calling. The moment that you start nailing down good habits, even if it’s reading 10 pages a day, you’ll still get ahead of a lot of people. Also, think about it this way. You start taking care of yourself, you can attract a lot of things into your life.

Listing and pondering…

Next, grab a pen and paper (or fire up your favorite note-taking app) and start listing everything you like, love, and feel passionate about. Don’t hold back — this is your chance to brainstorm without limitations. Once you have your list, take some time to ponder each item. Reflect on how each activity makes you feel and whether it aligns with your values and aspirations.

Now, let’s talk about Ikigai — the Japanese concept of finding your reason for being. Ikigai encourages us to explore the intersection of what we love, what we’re good at, what the world needs, and what we can be paid for. By identifying this sweet spot, you can uncover your true purpose and chart a course that brings you joy, fulfillment, and meaning.

Remember, finding your path in life is a journey, not a destination. Embrace the process, stay open to new opportunities, and trust that you’re exactly where you need to be. So, grab the reins, take that first step, and let the adventure begin!

Here’s to discovering what sets your soul on fire and living a life filled with purpose, passion, and possibility. You’ve got this!