Life On the Road Is Not As Great As It Seems

Read time: 4 mins

Welcome to another week of being on the road!

So what not to like about traveling life right? Exploring places, cuisines, sightseeing, most importantly, I get to do these virtually for free due to the nature of my work. But amidst the excitement of constant travel, there are some challenges that I face from time to time and I want to share. From unhealthy eating habits to the stress of navigating new places, here are some tips for overcoming the hurdles of life on the road.

Unhealthy Eating Habits 

When you’re constantly on the move, it’s easy to fall into the trap of unhealthy eating habits. Fast food joints and airport snacks become all too familiar, and nutritious options can be hard to come by. Seriously, most of the time I use Uber Eat since they’re fast and I’m too exhausted to think about what to eat for dinner. The results: I gain weight despite of exercising. 

But after a while, I learn to stock up nutritious or granola bar. If the hotel provides free food at the front desk such as banana, apples or oranges, I pick them up as I pass by too. With big meal like dinner, I start to browse more option if I opt for delivery. Sometimes I go out to eat by myself if I find a restaurant that is to my liking (Obviously I stick to Asian food). Nights like those never disappoint because when you’re in big city, food in general are pretty darn awesome. Just remember, your body is your temple, so treat it well even when you’re on the road.

Navigating New Places 

Traveling to new destinations can be both exciting and daunting. From language barriers to unfamiliar customs, there’s a lot to navigate when exploring new territory. Even within the US, there are local dialects. Example: some places call soda pop, others soda, others soft drink. So I find myself being more conscious about what I say or do.

But here is one simple thing I do: ask! Take courage and embrace the adventure and lean into the unknown. Take the time to learn a few key phrases in the local language, and don’t be afraid to ask for help or directions when you need it. You’ll be amazed at how welcoming and helpful people can be, even in unfamiliar surroundings.

Diminished Desire to Explore 

Believe it or not, constant travel can sometimes lead to a diminished desire to explore. When every day feels like a whirlwind of new places and experiences, it’s easy to become overwhelmed and lose sight of the joy of discovery. Seriously, there are weeks I find myself just staying in the hotel. And it doesn’t help that I have to do presentation to a group of people. So after a while, I just want a moment alone (even when I’m at home).

But I let google and Siri recommend places for me to explore. Last week, I was just walking around Vancouver and taking the city in (I really like it! Definitely will come back). The trick is to take time to slow down and savor the moment, whether it’s enjoying a leisurely stroll through a new city or simply sitting back and soaking in the sights and sounds around you. Remember, the journey is just as important as the destination, so make the most of every moment, plus think about you’re on a trip for free!

So life on the road comes with its fair share of challenges, but with a positive attitude and a little bit of planning, you can overcome anything that comes your way. So here’s to embracing the adventure, staying healthy, and exploring the world one destination at a time!